Michelin Premier LTX Tire Review & Rating

New in 2015, the Michelin Premier LTX is the company’s latest touring all-season offering for drivers of all types of pickups, light duty vans, crossovers and SUV’s who are looking for superior all-season traction, ride comfort and a longer treadlife.

The Premier LTX uses sunflower oil and increased amounts of silica in the tread compound that are designed to enhance grip on wet pavement. Combined with their EverGrip Technology and symmetric tread pattern, this combination delivers on its promises. In fact, based on company tests it stops shorter than other models like the Continental LX20 and Goodyear CS TripleTred.


Michelin Premier LTX Tire Review

EverGrip technology is groundbreaking for the truck/SUV touring all-season class. Based on the same technology that you’ll find in their Premier A/S for cars, EverGrip widens the tread grooves and allows new grooves to open as the tire wears down. The result is that dry/wet traction when worn is comparable to what you find on brand new tires.

Traction and braking performance is not the only benefits with the new Premier LTX. The comfort and noise level on this model is exceptional. On most tires in this class you’ll have to make a trade-off between traction and ride comfort, but not on this tire.

Much of this is due to the twin steel belts that have been reinforced with spirally wrapped polyamide cord and sit under a polyester casing ply. The end result is a tire that provides the strength, durability and safety you would expect, with the level of response and comfort that comes on a high quality Michelin tire.

Michelin has initially released 34 sizes ranging from 16-22 inches, with speed ratings of H and V available. A 60K mile tread warranty is also provided.

Pros

  • Exceptional wet traction
  • Delivers good feel for the road at all speeds
  • Ride is smooth and comfortable
  • Tire is very quiet at all speeds
  • Very good winter performance

Cons

  • Hard to find any real faults with this tire

Overall Thoughts

Michelin’s motto for the Premier LTX is “Safe when new. Safe when worn”, and it fits well with this tire. We’ve spoken highly of the EverGrip technology on the Premier A/S and it was only natural for the company to extend it out to their LTX line. For anyone who drives on wet roads and highways, this tire delivers excellent performance. It’s built to keep you and your family safer, and it does just that.

Beyond that, this tire drives smoothly on all but the roughest pavement. It rides comfortably and you won’t hear any obnoxious and excessive road noise. Treadlife looks to be above average in its class and it comes backed for 60,000 miles.

All in all the new Premier LTX gets our vote as the top touring all-season tire in the truck, SUV and larger crossover class. You’ll find it simply does not disappoint with its performance, comfort and long life.

Click Here For Current Michelin Coupons

Click Here To Find Current Prices

Buy Used for 40 – 50% Less than Retail

What Vehicles Will The Premier LTX Fit?

(This is not a complete list of ALL vehicles this tire will fit)

  • Chevrolet Silverado, Tahoe, Avalanche, S10, Suburban, K2500, Colorado, Blazer
  • Dodge Ram, Durango, Dakota
  • Ford Expedition, Escape, Ranger, Bronco, F-150, Excursion, Explorer
  • GMC Yukon, Sierra, Canyon
  • Honda Element, CR-V
  • Hummer H3, H2
  • Isuzu Trooper
  • Jeep Wrangler, Grand Cherokee, Liberty
  • Land Rover Discovery
  • Lexus GX470
  • Mazda B4000
  • Mercury Mountaineer
  • Mitsubishi Montero
  • Nissan Titan, Xterra, Frontier
  • Toyota Tacoma, Tundra, FJ Cruiser, Sequoia, 4Runner, Land Cruiser, Highlander

Tire Sizes

16″

215/65R16 98H BSW
215/70R16 100H BSW

17″

225/60R17 99V BSW
235/60R17 102H BSW
235/65R17 104H BSW
255/60R17 106V BSW
275/55R17 109V BSW

18″

225/60R18 100H BSW
235/50R18 97V BSW
235/60R18 103H BSW
235/60R18 107V BSW
235/65R18 106V BSW
245/60R18 105V BSW
255/55R18 109V BSW
255/55R18 109H BSW
265/60R18 110V BSW

19″

235/45R19 95H BSW
235/50R19 99H BSW
235/55R19 101V BSW
235/55R19 101H BSW
255/50R19 107H BSW
255/55R19 111V BSW
255/60R19 109H BSW
275/55R19 111H BSW

20″

235/45R20 100H BSW
235/55R20 102V BSW
245/50R20 102V BSW
245/60R20 107H BSW
255/50R20 109V BSW
255/55R20 110H BSW
265/50R20 107V BSW
275/50R20 109H BSW
275/55R20 113H BSW
275/60R20 115H BSW

22″

285/45R22 114H BSW

Price Range

Michelin Premier LTX prices range from approximately $136 and up. You may also find occasional rebates, discount prices, coupons and special offers on this tire.

Click Here To Find The Current Prices On All Michelin Premier LTX Sizes

Warranty

Michelin provides a 6-year or 60,000 mile tread warranty on the Premier LTX. Mileage is reduced by half if different size is used on rear than on front. Tire uniformity is guaranteed for the first year or first 2/32 inch of wear.

Materials and workmanship are warranted for 6-years and include free replacement during the first year or first 2/32 inch of wear. A prorated amount is given for the remaining time period or down to the final 2/32 inch of tread depth.

You will also find a 3-year flat tire changing service and Michelin’s 30-day customer satisfaction guarantee.


Share this review
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmail

75 thoughts on “Michelin Premier LTX Tire Review & Rating

  1. Michelin LTX Premiere purchased new with my 2019 Equinox ….32k miles..no more tire tread …gone Belle Tire tells me that this tire has a known defect. I rotate my tires all the time and always get 65k miles. 90% highway. What can Michelin do for me? I am 68 yes old have bought 20 plus cars and NEVER had this kind of wear after 32k miles. My next call is to GM what are you doing for us?..need check for $500.

  2. I purchased Michelin Premier LTX tires July, 2019. Rated at 60k, we have put 28k on these and are told they need to be replaced as they are at 3. Woukd trust driving them this winter. We paid over $800 for these tires this is ridiculous. I would never recommend these tires to anyone and lookibg at the number of similar complaints I would think a repituable company would do something to keep their customers

    1. My 2019 Equinox had Michelin Premier LTX tires on it when I bought it, The tread wears extremely fast for some reason?
      After only 2 years and 27,500 miles my dealer says I need to replace them. 3/32 and 4/32 tread depth. I drive 90% on the highway and I have never had to replaced tires with less than 50,000 miles on them. I am heading to Belle tire for their advise. Michelin should look into what is going on with these tires.

  3. These tires are garbage. I have a 2019 equinox with 18000 miles and they are worn out. Now gm wants me to pay a pro-rated amount for a new set on a car that I’m leasing. The kicker is that the replacement tires have to be the same junk michelins.

    1. Would not recommend these tires, they are JUNK! They were on our 2018 Chevy Equinox when we purchased it in February of 2019 with approximately 20,000 miles. We had to replace them in October 2019 with 28,251 miles. Dealership recommended we replace them with the same tire because Michelin would pay 40%. Should have said no, we will just buy a different brand that will last. We went ahead and got this same tire and this set is JUNK too; we are having to replace this set of tires at 50,300 miles. Pretty sad when they are supposed to last 6 years/60,000 miles and we can ‘t even get 2 years and 30,000 miles out of them. We have always Michelin tires on our vehicles because of the good ride and how long they last, but we will be switching to a different brand of tire due to these tires. DO NOT BUY THESE TIRES, THEY DON’T LAST!

      1. Michelin should have replaced them for free if like you say, didn’t even last a year, policy states free replacement under one year.

  4. I’m having the exact problem, I have just over 26,000 miles and just got it inspected to turn it back in and was told that I HAVE TO REPLACE THE FRICKING TIRES…WTF!!!
    So they want me to REPLACE THE FRICKING TIRES AND TURN IT IN TO THEM!!!
    I’M SCREAM BS AND SHAME ON GM FOR PUTTING THESE ABSOLUTE CRAPPY TIRES ON THEIR CARS!!!!
    ALSO SHAME ON MICHELIN FOR MAKING THESE CRAPPY TIRES!!!
    I WILL NOT LET THIS GO… SOMEONE WILL PAY FOR THE TIRES…AND IT WILL NOT BE ME!!

    1. My wife had 46,000 miles and rotated every other oil change. One of the tires will not hold air. Michelin would not do anything about it. Very disappointed and will not buy their product again.

  5. I drive a 2019 Equinox for work that came with these tires as OEM. I almost always get at least 70k out of a set of tires as I make sure they are rotated properly. I was shocked at my last service that I was told my tread was as 2/32 and I needed a new set of tires at only 47k when these tires are guaranteed for 60k. Fleet approved a new set (which they ordered Firestones to replace them). I’ve had Michelins in the past and they always do good with ride and handling but they never seem to last as long as advertised.

  6. Update!!! I left a couple of bad reviews on some websites, and low and behold Jon from Michelin called me to apologize and sent me a check for $540.00 to offset the cost of replacing the tires. I appreciate Michelin making the situation right, and will consider them next time I need to replace my tires.

  7. DO NOT BUY THESE TIRES!!! I had purchased a 2018 Dodge Durango SXT AWD for my wife in October 2017. The vehicle came with Michelin Premier LTX 265/60R18. As a retired Air Force Ground Equipment Mechanic, I am mechanically savvy and perform all my own vehicle maintenance to the extent I can, which includes checking the tire pressure monthly, and rotating the tires every ~5000 miles. I was meticulous about this since it’s my wife’s vehicle and she uses it to transport our 3 children, and their safety is very important to me. On 7/5/2020, I was getting ready to rotate the tires and check the pressure when I noticed that huge chunks were missing from all 4 tires down to the thread in some cases! This came as a shock to me since the tires only had 33,469 miles on them and are warrantied for up to 60,000 miles. I had them replaced with Bridgestone Dueler LTH 265/60R18 since I questioned the quality of the Michelin Premier LTX 265/60R18. I then returned the original defective tires to the dealership which I purchased the vehicle from to see if could get some compensation for having to purchase. They were hesitant to help, but I demanded that they accommodate my request. They contacted Michelin (case # 01686072) and informed me that Michelin would not entertain my request for a warranty compensation because I did not replace their inferior tires with another set of inferior. I wish I could upload pictures so everyone can see what garbage their tires are. I will never buy another Michelin tire as longs as I live. They do not stand by the product and they are garbage.

  8. Disappointed. Been buying tires for over 30 years and never had a set like these, never had to take a tire back and certainly never posted a comment on a board about tires before. Something is wrong with the tire model. I bought a brand new set of 4 Michelin Premier LTX All Season (60k) and from day one had road noise. Confirmed with dealer that mount, balance and alignment was good, the tire just made noise. Was asked to let them break in. Well 7 months later same issue plus the wear is down to 5/4.
    My dealer (Honda) wouldn’t stand behind them and only was able to get a 60% discount on the tire itself. I called and Chris at Michelin was able to go to 80%. These were defective tires and no one (Michelin or Honda) would step up and do what is right. Abnormally fast wear and very loud noise (can’t hear radio over 40 mph) should qualify. Imagine if you bought a bbq at Costco and it was missing parts or just didn’t work and they confirmed, but only offered a % of the total you paid. I paid a total of 1080 to dealer for everything and will get 660 back from Michelin, so better than others, but this took me hours of my personal time.
    This tire should not be rated as a 60k tire, should not be promoted as a quiet tire and shouldn’t be pushed by Honda as the best replacement tire for CRV.

  9. I have 30,000 miles omg my gmc acadia and my tires are shot. After reading all these reviews i’ll will not mess with
    Michelin tires again. 60,000 mile tires done in half the time.

    1. Same here. Sitting in Firestone getting all tires replaced after 22,000 miles. Went out and looked at the Michelin’s they removed and two are slick. Came on 2018 Acadia from the factory. Twenty Five years ago I would buy nothing but Michelin. Never again after having this happen a second time in new car. Sad.

  10. I too got ripped off with these crappy tires. In less than 16,000 miles on my Jeep Liberty they went bald! Purchased at BJ’s for almost $800. Got no help from BJ’s. They claimed it was up to Michelin to make right. I cancelled my BJ’s membership, and will NEVER buy another Michelin tire again!

  11. My 2017 Buick Envision was purchased new and only has 16,000 miles. I was told by my tire dealer that they are
    very worn and need to be replaced. I have heard that new cars come with cheap quality tires, but this is insane. I will
    never buy anything from Michelin again and am telling everyone I know how bad they are.

  12. ian haynes this message is for you/do you work for Michelin? there are too many bad reviews on this tire ?
    what is Michelin doing about this ??? other than you asking people in this thread to comment more about how shitty the tire was for them ! I am surprised to see all these bad reviews – were these tires a bad batch ? will there be attempts to contact these people and give them good deals on new tires . Or are you just going to continue with your ineffectual questioning about how bad tires were for these people? perhaps a proactive approach from Michelin would help!
    The Michelin brand is being slaughtered here and maybe it should be , as i see no meaningful
    response from Michelin. Vey embarrassing for Michelin in my opinion.

  13. Bought Premier LTX at local Ford dealer less than 3 years ago in 2017…expensive tires @ $750 per set…was told initially they were better than Michelin Defenders. After 22k miles on ’13 Subaru Outback they have 4/32 ” tread left. Nail in sidewall caused me to replace all four. Called Ford dealer and was told they could not give me a pro-rate unless they were down to 2/32nds. These tires are junk and Ford dealer will not stand behind them. Road noise was worse than previous M. Defenders from Ford dlr that wore out prematurely. Here’s the inconsistency…have Mich Defender LTXs on 2000 Ford Expedition with almost 50k mi and still have 9/32nds left..go figure. Two lessons learned…no more tires from Ford dlr and no more Michelis for Subaru

  14. At last visit dealer told me my Michelin Premier LTX tires had to be replaced at 31,000 miles. OEM tires had on when Venza was bought new lasted 60,000 miles. Michelin’s are an inferior product and will never buy them again. I have always bought what I thought were good quality tires and have never had to replace tires at 31,000 miles.

  15. These tires should be on a recall list as they are not safe. after 2 years and 30,000 miles, my front tires were completely bald and would not pass inspection. The back tires were close to bald. Very unsafe. Warranty says 6 years or 60,000 miles but you just get a pro-rated discount on new tires. THEY SHOULD HAVE BEEN REPLACED FOR FREE. I will tell all my friends and family NEVER to buy these tires.

  16. Tread life is not up to the guarantee, but still a great tire. My vehicle is a 2018 Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV GT, in Seattle. The factory Toyo A24 225/55R18 tires had an unacceptable level of freeway roar, so I replaced them with Michelin Premier A/S in the same 225/55R18 size. These made a remarkable improvement in the noise, and the handling and stopping distance in the rainy Seattle winter winter weather were wonderful. This is a fulltime Uber vehicle, so after about 50,000 miles these tires’ tread wore out. But meanwhile, during a three-week period of snow and ice in February 2018, I’d put studded snow tires on the car, 225/60R18 due to 225/55R18 being unavailable. I noticed that these studded snow tires were quieter than the Michelin’s, I guess due to their larger size blocking reflected tread noise from reaching the cabin—this experience contradicts the common dogma that the larger the tire the louder. So I replaced the 225/55R18 Michelin Premier A/S tires with 225/60R18 Michelin Premier LTX tires. These latter are quieter than the 225/55R18 Premier A/S tires. The Outlander has a more bouncy, “boatlike” ride now, but handling and braking is still excellent; the braking performance of the LTX’s has saved my vehicle at least once: in the eastbound I-90 Mount Baker tunnel, the car two ahead of me slammed his brakes on for unknown reasons, the car behind him (in front of me) rear-ended him, and I stopped less than 16 inches behind his rear bumper. Still, with wearing tread the freeway roar has returned, and at 40,000 miles has become objectionable. I am tempted to make my next choice be Pirelli, either Scorpion Verde or Cinturato P7, based on these tires’ quieter test results, but I probably will stick with Michelin’s due to their unmatched braking performance on wet pavement, which is the crucial decider in a rainy Seattle winter. But if there is a quieter tire with better stopping power than the Premier LTX I would like to learn of it.

  17. Worst tires for wear that I have ever had. They came standard on my leased 2017 GMC Acadia Denali. In just over two years and 22,000 miles they were down to 4/32 tread. And I had the tires rotated with each oil change, at least 4 times. One of the advantages of leasing should be no need to replace tires. Not the case with these. After complaining to my dealer and to Michelin, I learned that many others had a similar experience. Michelin gave me a claim number and my dealer was able to negotiate a big discount on replacements from Michelin, but I still had to pay a replacement cost. My previous experience with Michelin had been excellent, and I still plan to buy Michelin Pilot Sports for my Corvette, but the Premier LTX should be off anyone’s list.

  18. Had good experiences overall with these tires. My last set was relatively quiet, durable and dependable. I however do not brake hard, do not typically corner fast or as accelerate in turns. My tires were rotated religiously every 5k, to 6k miles. On only a few occasions had them on rougher terrain and only for relatively short periods. Still my tires lasted roughly 25k miles before replacement. I bought them again as the cost was comparable to other brands. I do and did expect far more from michelen as far as wear

  19. 12,119 miles and down to the wear bars on my 2014 SRX bought them at caddy dealer had them mounted, balanced and alignment last year nov 11-18 and they have been rotated 5 times since then-and now need new tires won’t be the Michelin premier xlt, looking at other brands.
    Going to see about warranty ( good luck right!!! )

    1. 2018 Terrian and by Oct 16, 2019 you had 50k miles on these tires? Sorry Gearhead, all others are saying they can’t even get 20k miles on these tires. I’ve got 11,157 miles on my 2018 Equinox, rotated tires 3 times and have 3/32 tread left..

    2. I have a 2017 Acadia about 55k miles on original tires. Looking to replace them now. Have rotated with every oil change have about 3/32 left. Been very happy with them, So am planning to replace with the same thing. Replaced one due to puncture But even wear all around. Good performance no loud road noise. All these poor wear comments have me thinking twice.

  20. These are the OEM tires on our 2018 Terrain. We’ve gotten 50,000 and hardly any tread is gone. Not really, like everyone else after 18,000, we’ll be replacing them soon being down to 4/32 or less. Even though, I heard the tread “widens” and is “harder” in the last 3/32 or so, there won’t be much grip in the snow. Other than Firestone and Goodyear for performance vehicles, I bought Michelin exclusively for our pass vehicles, crossovers, and SUV’s for 45 years, and until now been very pleased. After this, I will at least be looking at other brands including Bridgestone. Looks like Michelin’s trying to live off their name with cheaper products like Diehard, Craftsman, etc.

  21. We have just over 25,000 miles on our 2017 Jeep and are being told by the dealer that new tires are necessary since we have 2/32 inch of tread left. It’s disappointing to read Ian continually replying that he is sorry and asking for more details. The details are the tires are inferior and the customers deserve money back. We don’t drive off-road and there is nothing out of the ordinary about our driving habits.

  22. We are Leasing a 2018 Chevrolet Equinox from Progressive. At our oil change and the had to replace a tire sensor they told us our tires needed replaced. After 1 1/2 years around 13,000 miles ???!! Told we had to call Michelin and we had to replace tires!!? On a lease??! I call Bullshit!!! Warranty on tires 60,000 miles. So why do we need to pay anything!?!?!

  23. Terrible tires, as is evidenced by all of the negative comments. Tread life is dismal. So bad that something like a consumer class action suit should be considered. Michelin may make better tires than this, but I will never know because I will never buy Michelin tires again.

  24. Very unhappy with my Michelin 235/55R20 tires. I previously had the same tire and replaced them at less than 40,000 miles. Put the same tire back on, rotated as recommended and was told by the dealership that I am in the “Red” and need to replace the tires as soon as possible. This time I have less than 35,000 miles on them. And this is suppose to be a 60,000 mile tire? I think I deserve an adjustment but will probably not get any in which case I will go with a different brand and never purchase a Michelin tire again.

  25. I purchased a brand new 2018 Equinox Premier and have 15,000 on it and was told at my oil change that my tires are at 4/32 and all need to be replaced! Everything people are telling you are correct they are crap! Also to have these replaced I have to have the same tires put back on and will have to pay 25% of the bill. Then possible 15,000 more miles may have to do the same, then I will be paying 46% of the bill. What is wrong, that Michelin will not stand behind these tires and have them replaced completely with a better tire. Think there are way to many bad reviews on these tires.

  26. i bought 4 of these tires and one needed replacing after 19 miles and another needed replacing after 24 miles.. So i just replaced them all out of frustration. i would not recommend at all.

  27. These tires are junk. Less than 9 months and 24K, they need to be replace. Never buy these tires. Ridiculous.

  28. Do not buy these tires, I repeat do not buy. Not even a year only 35000km, I have to buy another set of tires. This tire is junk.

  29. I bought a new 2018 Equinox. 24,000 miles and the tires are at the wear bars. The tire aren’t bad for driving, but to get only 24,000 miles out of them is ridiculous.

  30. What you read here is correct, I had factory Hancook tires that I changed at 68,000 miles for the Michelin Premier Tires on my Ford Explorer. I am now shopping again for new tires after 30,000 miles, they started shredding just after a few months of owning and now have 2/32 trend remaining. $950 later and need new tires again! Trust the reviews these Michelin Tires are trash before they are even placed on your car!

  31. These tires are absolute JUNK. I have a 2017 Cadillac XT5 and had to replace all 4 tires after 24k miles. How is this even possible? I contacted Michelin and they told me the warranty process but won’t cover the cost of replacements. I will NEVER buy a Michelin tire again for the rest of my life!!!!

    1. Hi Robert, I’m really sorry you had such a bad experience. I will definitely research further about your problem to and update the review accordingly. Thank you for sharing with us!

      1. Patricia, I’m having the same problem with my Premier LTX tires that came on my Cadillac SRX when I purchased it new in 2014. I am now in need of my fourth set of tires on a car with less than 46,000 miles. Each time I replaced them the cost was prorated, but the total cost exceeds that of a full set, with only 3/4 the mileage of the warranty. Michelin is aware of this and doesn’t care about customer satisfaction or the integrity of their name. I am a conservative driver and have the car aligned every 6 months. Michelin tires are garbage.

  32. Premier LTX Worse Michelin tire I’ve ever purchased after only 28,000 miles I’m having to replace these tires as I have only 2/32 tread left ( I bought them 8/2016 replacing them in 4/2019) I drive a Cadillac SRX and previously had latitudes that lasted 62,000 miles
    I maintain rotation as recommended always keepcorrect air pressure drive conservatively and live at the beach in a resort town I’ve contacted Michelin Several times about this defective tire … only to be told they’ll prorate the remaining tread haha.
    I won’t be buying Michelin’s again. Have been a loyal customer 10+ years
    Longer tread life is a joke 28,000 miles. Really??

      1. My tires are shredding also they are not even two weeks old these tires this company needs terminated for the safety of the American citizens they are pulling they are also not I repeat not members of the Better Business Bureau imagine that left that Echo imagine that they are not members of the Better Business Bureau I wonder why I was upside down in a build drainage ditch in a 2006 Mercedes Benz ML350 with only 64 Thousand Mile car is ruined I’m Now a mental psychotic angry as hell psychotic nut thank you Michelin. The mostly worn Cooper’s didn’t Tire wash slide at all they didn’t sway the vehicle from side to side at freeway speeds either either as did the mitchell-innes I get sweaty and freeway speeds and I get Tire wash trying to turn at speeds over 15-20 miles an hour it’s unbelievable and they’re selling these damn thing Still. … tires are shredding chop saw it’s like I’ve had them on there for years and it’s only not even two weeks I mean I just paid 1100 and I’m barely Alive, I CAN’T F UNCTION NOW I KEEP RELIVING FINAL SECONDS OF AIR AS WATER “HAD BEGUN MY NEW INHALANT. …HAD the window not shattered o n and with my last kick, I was dead !!! finally it gave way to the outside WHICH APPEARED TO.BE FOGGY TO ME, BUT NOBODY ELSE, IT WAS sunny day and I’m . Seening FOG
        !!!!! AFTER I resurfaced, the man driving the diesel work truck in front of me had stopped and had come to render Aid as he saw me slide right off the road and into the ditch upside down and drowning !!! I thank God my Shepherds were not in the vehicle or I would be on the national news by now this company needs hammered and I mean hamburger hammered !!!!! THE crap junk they’re selling under “BS pretense And NOT BEING member’s of the Better Business Bureau imagine that!!!!!!!!!! My older and mostly worn Cooper tires never ever once sidewall skeeted Tire washed around turn more than twice as fast is the slow speed turn on brand new Mitchell and that damn near took my life

        1. Thinking about buying the new version of LTX Premier with different tread design, new for 2019. Do you think this is good idea for my automobile?

    1. Same here, 38,000 and they are shot! Went to the dealership and they want to put on the same tire as it is recommend they say to stay with factory tires. I m shopping for others!

    2. those tires almost killed me after 40 Years of driving never having an accident and then just days after getting brand new Michelin tire wash tire skid at slow speed unable to turn crash into drainage ditch filled drainage ditch me drowning almost killed me. Michelin needs put out of business

  33. I purchased this tire because it was a popular brand with 60k tire warranty. I thought, “you get what you pay for.” I paid $1200 and only got 9 months & 21k miles out of them!
    Very disappointed! Road noise was also so loud that it was difficult to use my Bluetooth and talk on phone. If you drive a lot I don’t recommend these tires.

    1. I have a 2017 Lexus RX450h with these tires. The overall handling is very good but they are a little bouncy. I have not had them long enough to evaluate their tread life. I do agree with LaRhonda that they are certainly NOT road noise free at all and at times can be very noisy. I truly wish I could find a more road noisy free tire – so many tire companies claim this but I have yet to own one.

      1. Hey Gary
        Thank you for sharing your experience with us Gary. If a large number of our readers point out any glaring defects or problems in a particular tire design we update our reviews accordingly; with that information. Also, we’d like to point you to our Top 10 Quietest Tires for 2019 for a great selection of tires that produce low road noise.

      2. Yeah Gary be careful bouncy it’s just the beginning of it don’t try to turn the corner going faster than 10 miles an hour you’ll end up in the wash upside down and drowning like I did maybe 10 day old tires I hate this company

    2. 2016 QX60 here and had an identical experience. I figured I would buy the best tires I could. I paid the the big bill for a terrible product. About 18 months, only lasted 20k miles! Junk, don’t pay for these as they have poor treadlife. Never again, Michelin!

      1. Hello Nicole,

        We feel bad for you and LaRhonda’s bad experience with these tires.
        Can you provide us with more details?

        Thanks for commenting.

    3. Same thing with me, lasted less than 25,000 miles. Was told by Toyota dealer that since they wore evenly, not showing a defect, that there was nothing wrong. WTF!!!!! From what I’m reading here and other forums, there is a problem with this tire. DO NOT BUY!!!!!!

  34. I purchased a set for my Caddi SRX 235/55/20 to replace a brand new set of Cooper SRX tires that were already on the car. The difference is like night and day! The tires have traction, accelerating and braking, that the Cooper tires did not have, even good side bite for spirited cornering. They are quiet and smooth on the freeway. I have not driven in the rain yet(SoCal). I’ll never have anything but Michelins on either of my cars.

    1. Yeah Gary be careful bouncy it’s just the beginning of it don’t try to turn the corner going faster than 10 miles an hour laughing if this ain’t a BS comment I don’t know what it is these tires will kill you may not better than cooper cooper slap the hell out of Michelin I took Corners at 45 miles an hour never slid Tire washed took the corner of 2025 and I ended up upside down in water drowning and brand new Michelin you’re a joke Spencer whoever you are you must be a Michelin employee

  35. I had LTX premiers on my 2010 Sequoia. They lasted about 40k miles. They were a definite upgrade from the Bridgestone dulers that we’re on it from the factory but this time I decided to go with Continental cross contact LX20. Noticed improved steering feel immediately.

  36. Has anyone compared the Michelin Premium LTX to the Michelin Primacy MXM4, and which would be a better tire?

  37. I had been very pleased with my vehicle for the last three years and 77,000+ miles. However, I had long felt that there was excessive tire/road noise. The O.E. tires had worn exceptionally well, going the 77,000+ miles.

    Anticipating the need for a replacement set of tires, I begin to research recommendations for a tire design that might be quieter. Several sources pointed to 4-6 different recommended lines from various manufacturers. My vehicle O.E. provided tire and replacement was to be a 235/60R18 107V. Researching the recommendations I found few that offered the size required for my vehicle.

    I was skeptical that a tire could markedly improve the noise and ride experience, but I was set upon trying to improve my driving experience. One tire that was recommended was from Michelin. Talking with other users and from past experience, I knew that Michelin generally provided a quality product, so I decided to give it a go. The Michelin line was the Premier LTX design.

    Well, I have been blown away with the difference. The road noise that was a concern for the last three years is GONE. Plus the ride is much, much smoother.

    Reading other reviews and I realize that silence and ride likely can only be achieved without trade-off. I surely anticipate that the wear life and mileage of these tires will probably not come close to the advertised 60,000 miles. However, I am very happy with their performance and will likely accept significantly less than the 60,000.

    1. It helped me a lot. I have been looking for tires that will give me very smooth ride and also silence. I have Sciatica, and have problem driving. I am old and driving 90 miles everyday to support the family. I have 2004 MDX. I was confused to find a truly soft riding and quite tire. the last para you have written is the clear picture of a best quality smooth riding quite tire. Much appreciated.
      Babul

  38. Bought these for my 2013 Ford Explorer, replacement for original tires. These tires are amazing. Quiet, hold the road,. First trip highway trip was just over 400 Mile’s. Usually pretty tired after that many miles (I’m in my late 70’s). Was not tired at all, compared to most much shorter trips. Can’t say enough good about these tires.

  39. Purchased the 235 50R/18 size of the Michelin Premiere LTS as a replacement for my 2014 Malibu 3LT OEM tires (Goodyear Eagle LS2). Even though the Michelin LTX is marketed for SUV’s, it is absolutely amazing on my car, and was recommended by my store – Discount Tire. Smoother and quieter ride than when the car was new, and very tight handling with the 2.0 turbo that puts out 285 HP. I’m looking forward to seeing how long these last. The OEM’s lasted 26K miles only (typical of a factory tire).

  40. I bought a new Mazda CX-9 in Nov 2012 and loved everything about it….except the OEM tires. My GT has 245/50VR20 tires and the OEMs caused a lot of road noise. The ride quality was also less than ideal on imperfect pavement. I replaced them at 32k miles with the Michelin Premier LTX and it is like a different car….quieter, smoother ride, great wet weather traction and still handles better than any vehicle its size should! Love ’em!

    1. I would never buy this tire again. Based on this website recommendations, I purchased 4 of these tires for my Lexus NX200T – I needed to replace two tires after 18,000 miles, and now have to replace all 4 tires. The oldest tires have less than 30,000 miles on them. Feedback from the mechanic I used said the Michelin looked at my tires, considered the wear to be normal, and therefore would not offer a refund or a discount. They did not stand up to their product claims.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.