Falken WildPeak A/T3W Tire Review & Rating

The new Falken WildPeak A/TW3 is the company’s latest all-terrain tire in their lineup. Released in February 2016, the A/TW3 is designed for all types of light trucks, SUV’s and crossovers. This new model sports an attractive and unique hybrid tread design that is pretty much in between an AT and MT tire.

A tougher tread compound combines with a load of new Falken tire technology to give this model outstanding off-road performance, while also delivering very good manners when driving on the highway.


Falken WildPeak A/T3W Tire Review

Off road you’ll find the deeper (20/32 inch) tread depth, stepped-down tread blocks and rugged shoulder design provides outstanding traction on dirt, mud, gravel, rock and other rough terrain. The two-ply sidewall and added lugs help in preventing punctures and bruising for increased performance.

When it comes to traction in snow, ice and other winter conditions, the AT3W sports 3D Canyon Sipe technology and rugged tread pattern aid in grabbing snow and getting rid of it. Winter performance is a big plus for this tire and one of the best in its class overall.

For those times when you’re driving on the highway at higher speeds, the tire’s larger center tread blocks add more stability and deliver better feel for the road than many competitor models. The longer tread edges of these blocks further enhance grip on rain soaked road surfaces.

Falken offers a wide range of 15-20 inch sizes in both LT and non-LT models. A 55K mile tread warranty is also part of the package.

Pros

  • Excellent on-road wet/dry traction
  • Winter performance is a big plus
  • Off-road handling on rocks
  • Treadlife
Cons
  • Traction in soft dirt and loose sand

Overall Thoughts

Falken’s engineers have really come up with a winning tire in their new ATW3. They have somehow managed to hit most all of the right buttons in coming up with a design that performs just as well off-road as it does on the street.

This tire handles just about anything you throw its way when driving off the beaten path. Mud, gravel, grass and rock are no match for this tire. We would say that the way it handles rock when aired down is similar in performance to many aggressive MT models.

Driving on the street or highway is a pleasure as well. You’ll find very low road noise, which is much lower than what you’ll experience on the Goodyear DuraTrac or BFG T/A KO. Traction on snow and ice is simply outstanding. It sports the severe weather emblem meaning it meets the traction standards of dedicated winter tires.

Overall, Falken has raised the bar among tires that offer a hybrid AT, MT type of design. You can’t help but walk away impressed by its abilities. In addition, this model features a lower price point that gives it solid value and performance for the money. Highly recommended.

Click Here For Current Falken Coupons

https://tirereviewsandmore.com/recommends/falken-wildpeak-a-t3w/
What Vehicles Will The Falken A/TW3 Fit?

(This is not a complete list of ALL vehicles this tire will fit)

  • Chevrolet Silverado, Avalanche, Tahoe, Colorado, Suburban
  • Dodge Ram, Durango, Dakota
  • Ford F-150, F-250, F-350, Expedition, Explorer, Ranger
  • GMC Canyon, Yukon, Sierra, Jimmy
  • Honda Ridgeline, Pilot
  • Hummer H3
  • Jeep Grand Cherokee, Wrangler
  • Land Rover Range Rover
  • Mercury Mountaineer
  • Mitsubishi Montero
  • Nissan Frontier, Pathfinder, Titan
  • Suzuki Equator
  • Toyota Sequoia, 4Runner, FJ Cruiser, Tundra, Land Cruiser, Tacoma

Tire Sizes

15″

32/11.50R15 113R C1 RBL

16″

255/70R16 115T XL RBL
265/70R16 112T RBL
LT265/75R16 123S E RBL
265/75R16 116T RBL

17″

255/65R17 114T XL RBL
255/70R17 112T RBL
265/65R17 116T XL RBL
LT265/70R17 121S E RBL
265/70R17 115T RBL
LT285/70R17 121S E RBL
P285/70R17 117T RBL
35/12.50R17 121R E RBL

18″

255/70R18 113T RBL
265/60R18 114T XL RBL
265/65R18 114T RBL
LT265/70R18 124S E RBL
LT285/65R18 125S E RBL

20″

LT265/60R20 121S E RBL
275/55R20 117T XL RBL
275/60R20 115T RBL
LT285/55R20 122T E RBL
LT325/60R20 126S E RBL
35/12.50R20 121R E RBL

Price Range

Falken WildPeak A/TW3 prices range from approximately $104 and up. You may also find occasional rebates, discount prices, coupons and special offers on this tire.

Click Here To Find The Current Prices On All Falken WildPeak A/T3W Sizes

Warranty

Falken has a 55,000 mile treadlife warranty on the Wild Peak A/TW3. There is also a first 2/32 inch of wear guarantee on tire uniformity.

Materials and workmanship are warranted for 5-years and include free replacement during the first 2/32 inch of wear. The amount is then prorated for the remaining time period down to the final 2/32 inch of tread depth.


Share this review
Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedintumblrmail

13 thoughts on “Falken WildPeak A/T3W Tire Review & Rating

  1. I Rarely type out my comments and instead let the word of mouth, about my good/bad purchase do the bidding. But in this instance!!!.. with the Falcon Wildpeak 35/12.50R20 10 ply tires I bought over three years ago and put on my 2011 Chevy 4+4 to traverse the Never smooth and Very demanding pipeline ROW
    I Have Nothing But the Highest of Praise!!! These Same tires are still on my truck today and after 100,000 miles, and Never had a flat, they Still have decent tread left..I do now and will continue to speak highly of this brand forevermore..rarely nowadays do you get what you pay for… but with these Wildpeaks I got so much more… ….AB….

  2. I had these on a 2018 Platinum F-150 FX4. They were great in every way. Great on the 4×4 roads here in Colorado when I was hunting and did a 2000 mile road trip to Texas and back and they are great on the highway too. Quiet and handle well. I traded my truck in for an Expedition and will be putting the Wildpeaks on it as soon as I can.

  3. I had these Falkens on my Lexus GX470 for about 45k before I traded the truck in. My GX saw more harsh duty than most. Soft beach sand on Cape Cod, deep snow in Vermont / w.mass., and even a frozen lake (once). Combine that with considerable highway & city driving. I was impressed with uniform wear, lack of overall wear, and relative quietness for an AT tire. I grew to have great confidence in these tires, even in soft sand that they really aren’t designed for. In snow they were like goat hooves- simply unstoppable. I went a size taller than the oem’s and it really gave the Gx a nice stance. I just bought a QX80 and I plan on putting them on this truck too. Negatives: gas mileage went noticeably down; road noise increased as more mileage was added (still not bad for an AT).

  4. At first I was satisfied with these tires but after only 5000 miles or so the traction level dropped and the noise level increased. Even on wet pavement my 3.5 ecoboost would easily light up the back tires at every light. When they had around 15000 miles i was driving on dirt roads on a rainy dayand the truck was sliding around and needed to be in 4 wheel drive nearly the entire time. My previous truck had grabber at2s on it and i liked them so today I installed the grabber atx. The falcons only had about 16000 miles and they needed to be replaced in my opinion.

  5. I have a Ford F-150 FX4 with a 3.5L Ecoboost. I bought the truck with 62,000 miles and it was running Goodyear 285-60-20 10 ply Duratracs. I got another 25,000 miles out of those noisey and rough riding Duratracs. Upon replacing, I was deliberating between the Faulken Wildpeak AT3W, Michelin LTX A/T2, and the Cooper HTPlus in a 275-60-20 size. I went with the Wildpeak AT3W namely for the beefy good looks and nice tread pattern. Upon installation, I first noticed how surprisingly smooth they were for an AT tire as well as being pretty quite with great traction. What I didn’t like is that the Wildpeak AT3Ws absolutely killed my gas mileage. With the 10-ply 285-60-20 10-ply Duratracs (new they weigh 59 lbs at 33.5” diameter), I consistently averaged 17.0 to 17.5 on staight interstate hitting 18.1 a couple of times. With the Wildpeak AT3Ws, my gas mileage went immediately down to maybe 15.1 on straight interstate (and that was feathering it just to get up to 15.1). I immediately lost 2.5 mpg just because I changed the tires. Don’t get it because the Faulkens new weigh only 48 lbs. and are 33” diameter. I was expecting at least the same of a little better gas mileage. Around town I went from a solid 14.0 mpg with the Duratracs down to 13.0 mpg with the Wildpeaks. I even increased air pressure in the Wildpeaks to 42 psi, and didn’t make any difference. I reallly confused and frustrated about the significant drop in gas mileage. I deliberating taking the Wildpeaks off and replacing with the Michelins.

    1. Other then milage changing due to a more open lug pattern, did you drive in any winter weather? Like say 6 + inches of snow before the plows went through.

    2. I just had the Wildpeak A/T 3W’s put on right before some rain, snow, mud in the early winter. I did notice that the gas mileage dropped about 1-2 mpg, but the traction on snow and mud is very good. I had some Goodyear Wrangler Duratracs previous to the Falkens, and they handled well too, but the Falken’s just feel better. I was highway and off road, both with 6-12 inches before plows and after plows…highway they did great. Gripped great and with the ABS I couldn’t even make myself slide trying to hit the breaks at 45 mph. I’m a safe driver so just because I have good tires and a 4WD I’m not going to act invincible like other people who you end up seeing in the ditch on the side of the road. Off road they handled great in the snow. Here in AZ…our snowstorms are often preceded by rain…and that was the case here. Rain for a day and a half..then snow for a day. Off road they did great in the snow, and when I hit the mud underneath they did great as well. I was very surprised and pleased with how well they performed. I have a stock 2016 F-150 XLT with a 2.7 because I wanted the better gas mileage for the highway I do drive. I’ve been doing a lot of wood cutting and hunting/guiding the last couple of years and I saw a very noticeable difference in the Falkens compared to the Goodyears. I haven’t gone on a lot of rocks yet which the Goodyears handled well until there was some steeper climbs. I usually did that while getting wood on rougher roads so I can update after I do that with the Falkens. The highway comfort on dry roads is great and they are very quiet for an aggressive A/T.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.